Skip to content

ELECTION '18 Guelph firefighter the new Mayor of Puslinch

Election wrap-up of Puslinch, Centre Wellington and Guelph/Eramosa
20180427 contest lever ts 2
Dennis Lever was voted out as Mayor of Puslinch Township Monday. Tony Saxon/GuelphToday file photo


Two-term mayor Dennis Lever is out as Mayor of Puslinch Township.

Lever was edged by challenger James Seeley, a Guelph firefighter, in Monday night's election by just 35 votes: 1,081 to 1,046.

Lever was seeking his third consecutive term as Mayor of Puslinch. He was also a two-term warden of Wellington County council.

Incumbent councillors Ken Roth, John Sepulis and Matthew Bulmer were all reelected in Puslinch, where they will be joined by newcomer Jessica Goyda.

Mary Lloyd, Don McKay and Doug Breen were acclaimed as candidates for wards 5, 7 and 8 of Wellington County Council.


On Monday, incumbent Chris White defeated challenger David Wolk to remain mayor of Guelph/Eramosa Township.

Wolk, surrendered his Ward 1 seat on township council to oppose White, setting up a win for newcomer Bruce Dickieson.

White won easily, taking 73 per cent of the 4,032 votes cast in the township.

Other than Dickieson, the other three wards were won by the incumbents: Corey Woods in Ward 2, Louise Marshall in Ward 3 and Mark Bouwmeester in Ward 4.


In Centre Wellington, incumbent mayor Kelly Linton defeated lone challenger Fred Morris, taking 62 per cent of the 8,474 votes cast.

Morris was the previous councillor in Ward 4.

There will be three new faces on council, as Neil Dunsmore took the open seat in Ward 4, Bob Foster handily defeated the two challengers in Ward 3, including incumbent Dean Workman, and Ian MacRae defeated incumbent Don Fisher in Ward 1.

Ward 6 incumbent candidate Steven VanLeeuwen was acclaimed, while incumbents Kirk McElwain (Ward 2) and Stephen Kitras (Ward 5) retained their seats by defeating their lone challengers.