Skip to content

It's not easy being green

But 53 Upper Grand schools make it look easy
File photo



Fifty-three Upper Grand elementary and secondary schools have been certified as EcoSchools for 2016. This is a record number of winning schools for the board and includes 18 schools that participated for the first time. In addition, there was 100 percent participation by high schools this year.

“We are excited by the high level of success demonstrated by our schools this year. EcoSchool certification requires a whole-school effort by staff, students and the community in order to actively promote environmental sustainability and stewardship,” said Karen Acton, Environmental Sustainability Lead for the board.

One school deserves a special mention for achieving the prized platinum level for the second year in a row. Victoria Terrace Public School achieved a high level of points in all sections, as well as a minimum of 80 percent in a special platinum section.

Ontario EcoSchools is an environmental education and certification program that helps school communities develop both ecological literacy and environmentally responsible citizenship and reduce their environmental footprint.

EcoSchools focus on six key areas of achievement: teamwork and leadership, energy conservation, waste minimization, school ground greening and curriculum, and environmental stewardship. Depending on the number of points attained, schools can achieve bronze, silver, gold or platinum certification.

This year’s EcoSchools are:

  • Aberfoyle Public School
  • Alma Public School
  • Arthur Public School
  • Brant Avenue Public School
  • Centennial CVI
  • Central Public School
  • Centre Dufferin District High School
  • Centre Wellington DHS
  • College Heights Secondary School
  • Credit Meadows ES
  • East Garafraxa Public School
  • Ecole Fred A. Hamilton
  • Elora Public School
  • Eramosa Public School
  • Erin District High School
  • Erin Public School
  • Glenbrook Elementary School
  • Grand Valley & District Public School
  • Guelph Collegiate Vocational Institute
  • Island Lake Public School
  • J.D. Hogarth P.S.
  • James McQueen Public School
  • John Black Public School
  • John F Ross
  • John Galt P.S
  • John McCrae Public School
  • June Avenue Public School
  • Ken Danby Public School
  • Kortright Hills Public School
  • Minto-Clifford Public School
  • Mitchell Woods 
  • Mono-Amaranth Public School 
  • Norwell District Secondary School
  • Orangeville District Secondary School
  • Ottawa Crescent Public School
  • Paisley Road School
  • Ponsonby P.S.
  • Primrose Elementary School
  • Princess Elizabeth Public School  Priory Park Public School
  • Rickson Ridge P.S.
  • Rockwood Centennial P.S.
  • Salem PS
  • Sir Isaac Brock
  • Spencer Avenue ES
  • Taylor Evans
  • Victoria Terrace Public School
  • Victory Public School
  • Wellington Heights Secondary School
  • Westminster Woods P.S.
  • Westside Secondary School
  • Westwood PS
  • Willow Road Public School

About Upper Grand District School Board

The Upper Grand District School Board serves approximately 34,000 students through 65 elementary schools and 12 secondary schools in the City of Guelph, County of Wellington and County of Dufferin.

Student success is the goal of over 3,000 dedicated teaching and support staff who are aided by the contributions of caring volunteers and community partners.