Skip to content

Grain Farmers of Ontario

About Us 

Grain Farmers of Ontario is the province’s largest commodity organization, representing Ontario’s 28,000 barley, corn, oat, soybean and wheat farmers. The crops they grow cover 6 million acres of farm land across the province, generate over $4.1 billion in farm gate receipts, result in over $18 billion in economic output and are responsible for over 75,000 jobs in the province.

Grain Farmers of Ontario is the province’s largest farm commodity group. It represents the merged interests of the Ontario Corn Producers’ Association, Ontario Soybean Growers and the Ontario Wheat Producers’ Marketing Board. The grassroots farmer-driven process toward this merger began in 2004, when all three groups’ members passed resolutions at their respective annual meetings. They wanted one association representing the interests of Ontario farmers growing grain and oilseeds crops.

Since then, the three groups have worked closely with Ontario’s Farm Products Marketing Commission to carefully seek farmers’ input. All along the way farmers have stated their preference for one organization to represent all three crops.

In December 2008, the Ontario Minister of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs announced the results of a September 2008, province-wide mail ballot vote among Ontario’s growers of corn, soybeans and wheat, conducted by the Farm Products Marketing Commission. The result was a 72% majority decision to form the new Grain Farmers of Ontario.

In July 2015, Grain Farmers of Ontario officially welcomed barley and oat growers to its membership.

If you are an Ontario grower of barley, corn, oats, soybeans and/or wheat and want to become involved in your organization, there are many ways to do so:

  • Attend the January District Meeting for your area of the province.
  • Farmers in each District elect 8 to 19 Voting Delegates, for a provincial total of 150.
  • These Delegates elect one Director for their District, for a total of 15 on the Grain Farmers of Ontario Board.
  • Each Grain Farmers of Ontario committee is Chaired by a Director.
  • Non-Director Voting Delegates have the opportunity to serve on Grain Farmers of Ontario committees and sub-committees.
  • Sub-committees are issue-driven, and formed as needed. Their composition is designed to get the job done with the best people possible, while keeping a clear and specific focus.
  • Grain Farmers of Ontario committees include: Wheat Trading Advisory (Directors only), Market Development, Research & Innovation, Government Relations, Communications, Finance & Audit, Sub Committees.