Skip to content

The Globe and Mail wins leading eight National Newspaper Awards at virtual ceremony

TORONTO — The Globe and Mail has won a leading eight awards at the National Newspaper Awards, including prizes for breaking news and project of the year.

The awards were handed out Friday via a webcast in place of the usual gala because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Other top winners were La Presse and the Ottawa Citizen, which each nabbed three awards.

The Toronto Star and Le Devoir won two apiece.

And the subscription-based website the Athletic was a first-time winner, taking home the Sports award long-form features by Dan Robson.

This year, Serge Chapleau of La Presse and Stephanie Nolen both took home their eighth lifetime NNAs ­– Chapleau for editorial cartoons, and Nolen for reporting in the Globe and Mail with two colleagues.

Their wins match a record that had been held by Jacquie McNish, who won eight times between 1992 and 2015.

Here are the winners, as released by the National Newspaper Awards:

Arts and Entertainment: Marsha Lederman, Globe and Mail, for a meditation on art and climate change, and a feature about Margaret Atwood’s frenzied activity after the death of her life partner.

Beat Reporting (E. Cora Hind Award): Kelly Grant, Globe and Mail, for reporting she did on pharmacare and medically assisted dying as part of her health beat coverage.

Breaking News: Renata D’Aliesio, Melissa Tait, Ian Bailey and Andrea Woo, Globe and Mail, for coverage of the sudden end to a weeks-long search for two teenagers suspected of killing three individuals in British Columbia.

Breaking News Photo: Wayne Cuddington, Ottawa Citizen, for a photo of a distraught woman being attended to by a police officer after a man was gunned down in the city’s Byward Market.

Business: Geoffrey York, Matthew McClearn and Stephanie Nolen, Globe and Mail, for an in-depth investigation into the lending practices and other activities of Export Development Canada.

Columns: Melissa Martin, Winnipeg Free Press, for two columns related to missing and murdered Indigenous women, and a deeply personal reflection that emerged from a horrifying experience of turbulence while flying home from Japan.

Editorial Cartooning (portfolio of five cartoons): Serge Chapleau, La Presse.

Editorials (Claude Ryan Award): Marie-Andrée Chouinard, Le Devoir, for editorials about the École Polytechnique tragedy, a massacre in Christchurch, N.Z., and an author who openly advocated pedophilia.

Explanatory Work: Daphne Cameron and Martin Tremblay, La Presse, for revealing how science, policy and agricultural practice work together to boost pesticides to dangerous levels, and why regulations about this aren’t enforced.

Feature Photo: Julie Oliver, Ottawa Citizen, for a photo of three campers braving chilly summer weather to take a dip at a nudist colony.

General News Photo: Jacques Nadeau, Le Devoir, for his photo of a man being apprehended during a climate protest.

International (Norman Webster Award): Geoffrey York, Globe and Mail, for stories exposing the realities of Sudan, a heavily militarized dictatorship and one of the world’s most difficult countries to penetrate and understand.

Investigations (George Brown Award): Team, La Presse, for a shocking expose of medical errors that caused the deaths of 200 elderly or vulnerable Quebecers.

Local Reporting: Randy Richmond, London Free Press, for a series exposing how a police officer punched, kicked, stomped and choked a woman, how his fellow officers failed to stop the abuse, and how police spun it all into a misleading story about a dangerous suspect who had assaulted an officer.

Long Feature (William Southam Award): Andrew Duffy, Ottawa Citizen, for "Six on a Bus," a gripping narrative about the harrowing experience of passengers on a city bus that smashed into an awning in a crash that left three people dead and 23 injured.

Politics (John Wesley Dafoe Award): Robert Fife, Steven Chase, Sean Fine and Daniel Leblanc, Globe and Mail, for breaking the news that the Prime Minister’s Office had pressured the justice minister to abandon prosecution of SNC-Lavalin, and a series of follow-up reports as the ensuing scandal grew.

Presentation/Design: Cameron Tulk, Nathan Pilla, McKenna Deighton, Andres Plana and Tania Pereira, Toronto Star, for a presentation that helped readers experience the significant, sometimes terrifying effects of a changing climate.

Project of the Year: Globe and Mail for a year-long project to identify key gaps in the way data are gathered and analyzed in Canada, and to investigate why the data-collection system is so fragmented and inaccessible.

Short Feature (Bob Levin Award): Caroline Alphonso, Globe and Mail, for taking readers inside a school where educators do their best to make the learning environment supportive for children battling debilitating illnesses.

Sports: Dan Robson, the Athletic, for long-form features about the sudden death of former hockey star Ray Emery, the sometimes-troubled journey of the only Inuk to make it to the NHL, and the possibility that head-related injuries from their hockey careers had contributed to the deaths of two retired players.

Sports Photo: Rick Madonik, Toronto Star, for a photo of the Toronto Raptors’ Kyle Lowry, surrounded by the hands of teammates and opponents.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published May 1, 2020.

The Canadian Press

Looking for National News? viewed on a mobile phone

Check out Village Report - the news that matters most to Canada, updated throughout the day.  Or, subscribe to Village Report's free daily newsletter: a compilation of the news you need to know, sent to your inbox at 6AM.