Skip to content

Liberal Longfield declared winner of Guelph riding

CBC declares Longfield the victor, making it nine straight Liberal federal wins in Guelph
20180427 contest longfield ts 1
Guelph MP Lloyd Longfield. GuelphToday file photo

The Liberal hold on Guelph continutes.

Incumbent Liberal MP Lloyd Longfield was on his way to being reelected late Monday night.

Both CTV and the CBC declared Longfield the winner in the Guelph riding shortly after 11 p.m.

With almost half the votes counted in Guelph, Longfield had 41 per cent of the vote compared to the Green Party's Steve Dyck, who had 25 per cent. Conservative candidate Ashish Sachan was garnering 20 per cent of the votes.

Once final, it will be the the ninth consecutive federal election won by the Liberals in the Guelph riding.

The last time someone other than a Liberal won was the late Bill Winegard, elected in 1988.

In 2015 Longfield was elected with 49.1 per cent of the local vote, finishing with almost twice as many votes as Tory candidate Gloria Kovach.

This story will be updated.